Showiing wrong or no info

This forums is to discuss issues and features of the Linux update Manager plugin for LabTech RMM
Post Reply
stefan@nssonab.se
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 2:32 pm

Showiing wrong or no info

Post by stefan@nssonab.se »

The Linux update agent is show wrong or no info.

Please see attached file for pictures.

Servers har been rebooted 10 times last 12 hours.
Patches dont installt etc etc etc
Reboot dont work either from the Update Manager.

When I look a server scripts/command it says Ok....
Standard Ubunut servers version 16-20

What Im a missing ?
What more info can I provide to get some help ?
Attachments
Dok1.docx
(327.06 KiB) Downloaded 91 times

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 1898
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Showiing wrong or no info

Post by Cubert »

So how does it work and what to expect.

The LUM Plugin can manage Redhat style (YUM), Debian Style(Apt-GET) and SUSE style(Zypher) package managers.

Each package manager handles things a bit differently so you might see different outcomes based on type and agent of package manager.

The plugin interfaces with the agents via the LUM maintenance automate script. This script has a scan and a update function for each of the package managers. So when you push buttons in the plugin you are scheduling the script to run with a given function. (Scan, update, update all and reboot)

During a scan of Ubuntu

When scanning via AptGet we have the agent pull down 2 different scripts One is a python script and the other is a Perl script.

The first script (Python) /root/apt-get/APT-GET-Check.py returns 2 numbers separated by a semicolon of updates available and security updates available. In the example it is returning [8;0]

It will typically match what you see when you SSH into the agent and get a standard terminal.

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (30.13 KiB) Viewed 5741 times


The second script /root/apt-get/getUpgradeReport.pl returns all the actual packages and their versions using the following command.

Code: Select all

apt-get --just-print upgrade
and attempts to parse out all the listed packages it finds.


The output of this command un-parsed by plugin looks like the following.

Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (21.33 KiB) Viewed 5741 times


As you can see from this output that there are no packages reported back in the output.

This is typical for Ubuntu (Debian style) system to report some small set of distro packages that are optional updates. So it shows them in the overall count but not when you ask Apt-Get to show them.

This then causes the first scripts numbers to be recorded (8 non security and 0 security) updates but listed zero in the actual app list.


Now lets just run a manual upgrade everything command on agent to Agt-get (apt-get upgrade -Y)


Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (29.67 KiB) Viewed 5741 times


As you can see it upgrade 0 files. Where are those 8 applications that should now update? These 8 files are New Kernel files and such. In the current version of LUM we do not offer a Disto Update so even though the system is being updated it is not changing the kernels.

In the past, Linux admins really through up a stink when we automated kernel updates as without proper backups and considerations this may not be a wanted action so we took out the

Code: Select all

apt-get dist-upgrade
feature some years ago.

It maybe time to revisit this and add in a function to allow user to select if distro updates should take place. If so should an automated reboot be sent after updates to complete the process?

Caveats:

If no reboot is selected then the counts will remain as they were until the reboot happens. There is a delay between the last upgrades and the MOTD if a reboot is not done.

A system may not come back after reboot if a issue with kernel is present.

A reboot may take place in an inopportune time.


I will look into adding feature to choose this ability but will not resolve the issue of visibility of packages. They will still remain invisible to the plugin.


After we ran the disto updates and rebooted the following MOTD shows packages gone.


Capture3.PNG
Capture3.PNG (25.17 KiB) Viewed 5741 times

And if we now rescan via the plugin we see those updates are now gone.

Capture4.PNG
Capture4.PNG (4.73 KiB) Viewed 5741 times


So the plugin is working, just with Distro updates turned off and no forced reboots.

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 1898
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Showiing wrong or no info

Post by Cubert »

So your short term work around would be to edit the Automate script adding to line 16 of the THEN section to include

Code: Select all

&& apt-get dist-upgrade - y

So that when the Update All is given that it does the hidden updates as well. This will not force the reboot but you can add a new line after 16 to send reboot command down, then a script function to sleep 3 minutes while reboot happens. So script can continue with script scans after updates.


Capture5.PNG
Capture5.PNG (34.08 KiB) Viewed 5741 times

stefan@nssonab.se
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 2:32 pm

Re: Showiing wrong or no info

Post by stefan@nssonab.se »

Hi

I have addes the suggestions line. but still same issue.

And the scans are not running auto update either.
Last scan in the plugin is not up to date

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 1898
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Showiing wrong or no info

Post by Cubert »

Can you confirm that the scheduled script is being scheduled? is it running on agent and if so what is the output of the script logs?

User avatar
Cubert
Posts: 1898
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Showiing wrong or no info

Post by Cubert »

If the script is being scheduled on the agent, I suspect it is since other agents are getting data. That what you have is an agent that is failing the scans. This could be due to Python missing or a permission issue on agent not allowing the commands to run.

This will be apparent in the script and command logs in the agents console. Once we know where it errors I can give you means to resolve.

Post Reply

Return to “Linux Update Manager”